Skip Navigation or Skip to Content
DHS Extends Temporary Protected Status for Six Countries

Extension of TPS

On September 10, 2021, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) published a notice in the Federal Register announcing the extension of Temporary Protected Status (TPS) designations and TPS-related documentation (EADs, Forms I-94, and Forms I-797) for El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, and Sudan. The expiration date is now December 31, 2022, over a year extension from the original date of October 4, 2021. TPS beneficiaries from these countries will maintain this status as long as their TPS is not withdrawn because of individual ineligibility.

TPS and TPS-related documentation will be extended automatically for beneficiaries from these countries. TPS beneficiaries do not need to take any action or pay any fee related to this automatic extension.

New TPS Designation for Haiti

On August 3, 2021, DHS announced a new TPS designation for Haiti. To secure TPS under the new Haiti designation, eligible individuals must apply before the close of the registration period on February 3, 2023. DHS is strongly encouraging eligible individuals to apply at the earliest practicable date to ensure that their TPS continues beyond court-ordered extensions and without any gaps in status. Eligible individuals who do not register for the new TPS designation during the registration period may be ineligible to file a late initial registration during any subsequent extension of the designation.

Scroll to the top of the web page anchor link.