Skip Navigation or Skip to Content
Best Lawyers Recognizes Multiple NJL Attorneys

Several NJL attorneys were named to the 2023 Best Lawyers in America list. Best Lawyers considers more than 12 million evaluations by asking attorneys to evaluate their peers through exhaustive, confidential peer-review surveys.

NJL Of Counsel Elizabeth Thompson (labor and employment, immigration) was named a “2023 Lawyer of the Year,” a designation bestowed to only one lawyer with the highest average votes in their particular practice and region. Only 5,484 lawyers — or 0.4% of all those practicing in the U.S. — were presented with this award. Thompson has been recognized by Best Lawyers since 1997.

NJL shareholders Doug Elsass (commercial litigation) and Joel Andersen (labor and employment) were recognized as Best Lawyers. Elsass was first recognized by Best Lawyers in 2013 and Andersen was initially honored in 2021.

In addition, shareholder Courtney Blanchard (labor and employment) and associates Leah Kippola-Friske and Kirsten Pagel (both product liability/complex tort, business litigation) were named “Ones to Watch” — lawyers who have been in private practice 5-9 years and are building strong reputations in their market.


Nilan Johnson Lewis (NJL) is an innovative, independent, women-owned law firm that is a first choice for organizations across the country seeking deep expertise to solve their complex business challenges and disputes. Diversity is a core founding value of NJL. In 2022, the firm became certified as a women-owned business by the Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC), a significant milestone in NJL’s ongoing commitment to fostering an inclusive workplace and being a law firm that delivers exceptional results because we celebrate and advance the diversity of our members and clients. The firm has deep expertise in five areas of law: labor and employment, business litigation, corporate and transactional services, health care, and product liability/complex tort litigation. Learn more at

Scroll to the top of the web page anchor link.